Ice Skating at Bulldog Park 

The City of Crown Point offers Open Skate throughout the winter season. Weather permitting, our NHL-sized ice rink at Bulldog Park is scheduled to open Thanksgiving weekend.

Open Skate Hours

Hours are subject to change. 

Prices for the 2022 Skating Season

Admission

$5 per person
Free for senior citizens (62 and older)

Skate Rental

$3

Skate Assists

Free, available on a first-come, first-serve basis

November-December 2022 Hours**
** Hours are weather permitting and subject to change.

  1. PACE Department


    Physical Address
    183 S West St
    Crown Point, IN 46307

    Phone: 219-661-2271


- - - - Friday, Nov. 25
Open Skate:
Noon to 10 p.m.
Saturday, Nov. 26
Open Skate:
Noon to 10 p.m.
Sunday, Nov. 27
Open Skate: Noon to 6 p.m.
Monday, Nov. 28
Closed
Tuesday, Nov. 29
Closed
Wednesday, Nov. 30
Closed
Thursday, Dec. 1
Closed
Friday, Dec. 2
Open Skate: 5-10 p.m.
Saturday, Dec. 3
Open Skate: 2-10 p.m.
Sunday, Dec. 4
CSRI Skate: 10-11:45 a.m. 
Open Skate: Noon to 6 p.m.
Monday, Dec. 5
Closed
Tuesday, Dec. 6
Closed
Wednesday, Dec. 7
Closed
Thursday, Dec. 8
Closed
Friday, Dec. 9
Open Skate: 5-10 p.m.
Saturday, Dec. 10
Open Skate: 2-10 p.m.
Sunday, Dec. 11
Open Skate: Noon to 6 p.m.
Monday, Dec. 12
Closed
Tuesday, Dec. 13
Closed
Wednesday, Dec. 14
Closed
Thursday, Dec. 15
Closed
Friday, Dec. 16
Open Skate: 5-10 p.m.
Saturday, Dec. 17
Open Skate: 2-10 p.m.
Sunday, Dec. 18
Open Skate: Noon to 6 p.m.
Monday, Dec. 19
Closed
Tuesday, Dec. 20
Closed
Wednesday, Dec. 21
Open Skate: Noon to 8 p.m.
Thursday, Dec. 22
Open Skate: Noon to 8 p.m.
Friday, Dec. 23
Open Skate: Noon to 10 p.m.
Saturday, Dec. 24
Open Skate: Noon to 4 p.m.
Sunday, Dec. 25
Closed
Monday, Dec. 26
Open Skate: Noon to 8 p.m.
Tuesday, Dec. 27
Open Skate: Noon to 8 p.m.
Wednesday, Dec. 28
Open Skate: Noon to 8 p.m.
Thursday, Dec. 29
Open Skate: Noon to 8 p.m. 
Friday, Dec. 30
Open Skate: Noon to 10 p.m.
Saturday, Dec. 31
Open Skate: Noon to 4 p.m.
Sunday, Jan. 1
Open Skate: Noon to 6 p.m.

Learn to Skate at Franciscan Health Pavilion at Bulldog Park (Ages 3 and Older)


Looking for some fun winter activities this year? Our Learn to Skate program will kick off Nov. 29, 2022! Stay tuned for registration start dates!

This season, we will have two, six-week sessions with classes meeting once a week. Session 1 begins the week of Nov. 28 and runs through the week of Jan. 1. Session 2 begins the week of Jan. 15 and runs through the week of Feb. 20. Due to the nature of an outdoor rink and unpredictable weather, all canceled classes will be made up the week following the end of a session.  

Our classes are open for skaters of all levels and all ages! See below for more details on all class options! If you’re still not sure where to start, let us know! We will find the right fit for you and your skater!

Tots (Ages 3 to 5)

The goal of our Tot class is to teach our youngest skaters how to be on the ice safely while having fun! Helmets are STRONGLY recommended. Skate rental is included in the class fee.

Skills learned in this class include:

  • Skate safety
  • Proper way to fall down and stand up
  • Forward marching
  • Backward wiggles
  • Dips

For safety reasons, class sizes will be limited to EIGHT skaters per class. Classes will be offered on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 5-5:45 p.m., and Saturdays from 8-8:45 a.m. Depending on the popularity of the classes, we may add a second class on each of the days.

Beginners 1 (Ages 6-12)

Similar to the Tot class, the Beginner 1 class will focus on skate safety, as well as the basics of skating. Helmets are STRONGLY recommended. Skate rental is included in the class fee.

Skills learned in this class include:

  • Proper way to fall down and stand up
  • Forward marching
  • Two foot glides
  • Backward wiggles
  • Dips
  • Beginner swizzles

For safety reasons, class sizes will be limited to 12 skaters per class. Classes will be offered on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 5-5:45 p.m., and Saturdays from 8-8:45 a.m. Depending on the popularity of the classes, we may add a second class on each of the days.

Beginners 2 (12+, Coach Approval Required)

For the skaters who joined us last year, have previously taken lessons or who pick up on skills quickly, this class is for you! Coach approval is required to be allowed in this class. Skate rental is included in the class fee.

Skills learned in this class include:

  • Forward skating
  • One foot glides
  • Backward wiggles
  • Swizzles
  • Beginner backward swizzles
  • Stopping

For safety reasons, class sizes will be limited to 12 skaters per class. Classes will be offered on Tuesdays from 6-6:45 p.m.

Adults (Ages 18 +)

Learning to skate when you are no longer 10 years old and invincible can be a scary thought, but it should not stop you from trying something new! Whether you’re 18 and working on your Olympic debut, or you’re 74 and want to fulfill a lifelong dream, we’ve got you covered!

Our Adult class is tailored to your needs! There is not a specific skill set laid out for this class. Whatever your goals are, we’ll figure out a way to get you there! Skate rental is included in the class fee.

For safety reasons, class sizes will be limited to 12 skaters per class. Classes will be offered on Thursdays from 6-6:45 p.m.

Ice Show

This year, we plan to offer our skaters an opportunity to show off what they have learned! This will give our skaters an opportunity to show their person their newfound love of skating! Starting after Session 1, we will add show practices to our schedule.

Details are still being finalized. Stay tuned for more information!

Individual fee
Residents: $125
Non-residents: $156.25

Session 2 Registration deadline: Jan. 20, 2023

Click here to sign up!


Meet the Instructor - Sara Rhoades

Sara R - Ice Skating Instructor

Sara Rhoades has been skating for 25 years and coaching for more than 12 years. 

Prior to becoming an instructor for the Crown Point Parks and Recreation Learn to Skate program, Sara coached at Midwest, Homewood-Flossmoor and in Hammond. She has taught various classes at every age level, ranging from toddlers to adults. 

Sara also offers skaters private lessons prior to regular class time. Anyone interested in private lessons should contact Sara at sararhoades0703@yahoo.com

 

Skate 2
Open Skate 1
schools skate